AIDEE HD DB_0731

Welcome to my first ever edition of AIDEE HD DB! Aidee’s High Definition (Movie) Database: where IMDB meets my name and usual username for everything, haha!

I figured I wanted to just make a very random, no fuss, database of all the movies I watch as of recent (and some shows if any), which I hope to update regularly via my blog. It’s cause I always look back and wonder about all the movies I’ve ever watched and it’s just cool to be able to look back at a list, don’t you think?

Well I’m gonna be transparent. I’m not gonna pretend to be a film critic cause I’m not huuuhuu and I’m not gonna pretend I watch art house films and whatnot cause I really just watch literally almost anything. Almost. And I’m open to a lot of everything.

I watch even the most “badly rated” movies and more often than not, enjoy a lot of them so I give ’em a rating of my own in my head. So I’d like to share the dorkiest, cheesiest, weirdest, and even deeper parts of my inner workings.

Another fun fact is that I still watch TV. I heard a lot of people don’t anymore and I get made fun of for still having a TV in my room… I didn’t know it wasn’t normal? But I grew up in front of the TV and it’s my me-time, so I don’t think I’ll be giving it up anytime soon. I used to not be able to download any movies cause (don’t make fun of me) I didn’t know how to. I just banked on people giving me files of movies they’ve downloaded for me. In any case, I’d prefer to watch things on a big screen just because watching it from a laptop is a different experience. Being able to pause a movie means me getting really aideehd, so there’s nothing like watching it in front of a good ol’ television screen in what I call, “reeal time”.

So I hope you find something in my list that interests you and if you’ve already seen some, let me know what you think! Movies are one of my favorite topics! 😊

Featured image: York by hyperrealist artist © Davis Cone (1998)


malavitaMalavita (2013)
★★★☆☆
can’t find peanut butter in Normandy

Originally released as The Family, the story circles an ex Italian-American mafia’s family that entered the witness protection program and moves to a village in Normandy. As they try to keep a low profile and live a normal life, they’re nowhere near ordinary with a hormonal seventeen year old daughter, a swindler son, a fairly neurotic mother, and a father (ex mafia turned writer) well into his midlife crisis. Trouble is the one thing that runs in their genes. With violent tendencies spurring here and there, trouble finds them everywhere.

It’s more of a comedy despite how tragic the story seems. It’s quite satirical. 

Successful realtor Julie Sterling (Jessalyn Gilsig, center) reluctantly puts her promotion on hold as she uses her expert sales skills to help lead a group of Girl Scouts to compete in their annual cookie drive. .Photo: Copyright 2012 Crown Media Holdings, Inc./Photographer Chris Large

Smart Cookies (2012)
★★★☆☆
I probably would’ve been an awkward girl scout

A high maintenance realtor finds herself leading a group of girl scouts as a form of community service in her quest to bag the realtor-of-the-year award. Much to her surprise, she enjoys the company of her misfit team of 11 year olds. Together, they bring out the best in each other and strive to win the annual cookie drive.

It sounds cheesy but it’s actually ‘cookie’ (haha what does that even mean)… Suburban town, lots of marshmallows, universal themes, it’s one of my I’m-sleepy-but-not-sleepy-enough-let’s-watch-a-chill-movie-on-Fox-Fam-kind of movies. It honestly makes me feel like I’m 11 again which isn’t so bad. 

gone girlGone Girl (2014)
★★★★☆
do you really wanna get married?

Girl meets boy. Boy meets girl. Falls madly in love. Gets married. Falls out of love. Philandering, threats, violence, psycho, intelligence… I think everyone has a grasp of the story.

It’s disturbing. It’s incredibly well-written and well-played. I’ve seen it thrice and I try to forget I’ve ever watched it so I still get a little surprised whenever I do watch it haha. I’m all for empowered woman though. I just think it’s pretty nuts. 

little manLittle Man (2006)
★★☆☆☆
black Benjamin Button but funnier

Fugitive man-faced-baby poses as an abandoned baby and tricks a couple into taking him in and pampering him. He unintentionally builds a bond with his then dad who gives his best at fatherhood and finds it more difficult to leave once he’s recovered the diamond he’s been aiming to steal.

Well the story’s pretty irrelevant but it’s a dumb-funny-movie, purely for comedic purposes. It’s fun. I really like the Wayan brothers so that’s mainly why I watched it. 

enchantedEnchanted (2007)
★★★★☆
a good cliché

Soon to be princess, Giselle, jumps into a time warp that tosses her into another dimension and finds herself cold and helpless in the busy streets of New York City. She meets an even colder and unlikely modern day prince charming, a Manhattan based lawyer whose heart’s been toughened by the past, and his six year old daughter who is more than excited about this real life princess they’ve decided to house until she finds a way to get back home.

I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve seen this cause it’s always on TV. Personally I like it, especially in contrast to the recent wave of fairy tale spin-ups and remakes they’ve been making these last couple of years. Amy Adams sells the clueless Princess- thing and Patrick Dempsey delivers the detached single father. I think the idea’s pretty cool too. Brining a fairy tale to life right in the middle of modern day New York is catchy.

the recruitThe Recruit (2003)
★★★★☆
what if you can’t trust your boss? what if you can’t trust your lover? 

MIT graduate is tapped into joining the CIA. As he trains and learns the ropes of becoming an agent, he also discovers he cannot trust anyone—not his classmates and not his own boss. Under the impression he’s been given orders and mission, he is dragged into task after task to recover a code. But which side is he on?

Personally I liked suspense and action films from this time? Not really sure why but probably cause I started watching them at this age so this is how I remember them. I gave it a 4 because of the amount of suspense I felt, but sometimes I really am just gullible. I also liked the setting. 

the biggest fanThe Biggest Fan (2002)
★★☆☆☆
down on dream street 

An average teenage girl gets the chance of a lifetime as the boy of her dreams takes shelter in her home during his week away from the boy band life of fame and craziness. He falls in love with her, takes her to prom, and proves to everyone she’s not a loser as he proves his love for her.

Beyond cheesy and corny, but it’s something I just caught on TV late at night again just before getting sleepy enough. It’s got the 90s written all over it, especially during those boy band years and awkward outfits. The only bonus was a very young Jesse McCartney making a cameo. 

frozen

Frozen (2013)
★★★★☆
some people are worth melting for

Sisters Anna and Elsa were once very close until Elsa’s ice cold powers became difficult to control, she had to be kept from everyone. After being orphaned, the kingdom’s been left to the Princesses and on Elsa’s 18th birthday, she sets of a perpetual winter throughout the land, not unless Anna can find her and reach out to her. Along the way, she encounters charming young men, a reindeer, and a talking snowman as she hurdles through the snow.

The story’s pretty different from the usual animated fairytales. I also thought the characters were wonderfully thought of? A very awkward, bubbly, and free-spirited young girl and a very cold (literally and figuratively) and afraid young woman. I’m also pretty biased but very very very in awe of the SNOW. 

austelandAustenland (2013)
★★★★☆
pastel & lace land

Austenland is an interactive Jane Austen-themed resort in which guests are asked to join in and immerse themselves in activities of this picturesque period. From cross-stitching, to horse back riding, to playing instruments and acting in a play, they are given roles and names that follow. Modern American real-life-Jane blows her life savings to live out her dream as she’s had an endless fascination with literature for years. But great expectations usually lead to disappointment and even heartbreak.

When I was younger I used to also be fascinated with history and literature and I have always loved period films, so I sympathized with the story. I found the idea of a themed, interactive resort really fascinating on one hand and on the other, it was a cute romantic comedy. I also relate with the delusional-girl-meets-reality-dreams-crushed-thing about the movie. I also loved the Keri Russell, Jennifer Coolidge tandem. I wouldn’t mind watching it again. I wish I had read the book first though. 

dazed and confusedDazed and Confused (1993)
★★★★★
low rider

It’s the last day of school in Austin, Texas and a bunch of high school students find ways to kick off the summer. Set in 1976, in a time of bellbottoms, overalls, and weed, seniors looking to fit in or stand down, other seniors looking to torment freshmen, freshmen hoping to get lucky, and everyone just looking for a good time in a small town before big dreams and bigger responsibilities outside of scoring some Aerosmith tickets.

I thought it was a really fun movie with some underlying messages without having to be so serious or dramatic. I liked the clothes. I like the cars. I like the casting of all the characters. I liked the scenery and the style. I like the soundtrack. I like the whole Texas in the 70s thing because I had never really been able to picture what it was like there when it was a small town back then and what life was like for people.

exmachinaEx Machina (2015)
★★★☆ ☆
AI always wins

A young coder wins a contest to participate in an experiment in a private week-long retreat at the home and lab of the CEO of the world’s leading internet company. He is given the task to interact with the world’s first true artificial intelligence but he finds out his boss is a maniac and he falls in love with his beautiful, intelligent, and human-like subject. He plans to help the AI break free. Whose side is he on? Rather, whose side should he be on?

I watched this on the plane since I heard a lot of good stuff about it but I was really sleepy so I managed to fall asleep during some bits. Although there were twists here and there, I thought the plot was generally predictable. The cinematography was nice, however, I wasn’t too fond of the premise. It was disappointing and it was disturbing. Maybe AI presented this way just isn’t my cup of tea. It’s thought provoking and this story is a threat and possibility we must face in realistically in the near future, but it isn’t inspiring. The story was built on a billion questions on humanity and ethics. But I applaud it for leaning on ideas more than special effects. 

cinderella

Cinderella (2015)
★★★★★
Cinderella blueeeee

“Have courage and be kind,” is the guiding mantra sweet Ella has carried all her life. And even when life got tougher with the loss of her father and the abuse from her stepmother and stepsisters, she held her head up high and kept her heart solid gold. In time she meets Kit, a young Prince, whose fallen head over horse for her uncanny and rare pleasantness and attitude towards life. If only she can find a way to the ball to meet him again.

The story is a classic and the reason this movie hits the spot is that it sticks to the original premise. I’ve seen so many remakes of the classical fairytales that have been twisted, dragged, and stretched to a mediocre interpretation or worse, a failure. This one, on the other hand, was simple and well done, making its way in my list of all-time-favorites. It’s a delight to see all the colors, costumes, and the tale as old as time. If you grew up watching the animated fairy tales or reading it in books, watching this movie was like seeing the things you can only imagine come to life on the screen. Timeless, beautiful, and “a dream”. This tugs on my girly heartstrings. 

Teen building … the 1995 film of Ann M Martin's The Baby-Sitters Club seriesThe Baby-Sitters Club (1995)
★★★☆☆
ABC’s 123’s

Seven young girls operate a baby-sitting service in their neighborhood, however, for the summer they’ve decided to expand by starting a summer day camp for kids. While battling the unsupportive adults in the community who are trying to shut them down, the girls battle growing up—boys, biology, buillies, and family problems.

It’s a nice image of the suburban 90s. The group of all-girls-best friends reminds me of how it was like growing up for me too, and even now. My best friends are groups of girls too and we’re all different. Although it has its ups and downs, we’ve been close for what almost feels like a lifetime and we’ll remain close for another and another. 

tedtwoTed 2 (2015)
★★★ ☆ ☆
fresh cakes

After unsuccessful attempts at finding a sperm donor, even going through the lengths of stealing Tom Brady’s sperm, Ted’s “case” is addressed by the state of Massachusetts after trying to file for adoption. Ted is not considered a person and is labeled a property, thus revoking his license, firing him from his job, and annulling his marriage. Together with his best friend and a young lawyer who’s decided to fight their case Pro bono, they head on an adventure to New York City.

My dad really wanted to watch this and we did on a weeknight so the movie theater was really empty and it was just a whole lot of fun if you’re into this kind of stupid-fun-crass-comedies. All I have to say is, it’s not for everyone. But Ted is adorable. I want one. (I have a miniature one) But then again maybe it’s cause Seth MacFarlane is adorable too. 

the breakfast clubThe Breakfast Club (1985)
★★★★★
pixie stick sandwiches

March 24, 1984. A nerd, a princess, an athlete, a criminal, and a basket-case. Five of the most unlikely students are placed in one room during Saturday detention. But the assistant principal’s really had it with them, especially Bender, whom he threatens. Can the five of them survive the day without killing each other and settle their differences only to find that the enemy isn’t each other. It’s social pressure, today in the form of the assistant principal who’s out to get them.

Really, what’s not to like? They’re all ridiculously imperfect but somehow all of them are easily relatable. It’s the kind of movie that grows on you. 

something's gotta giveSomething’s Gotta Give (2003)
★★★★★
old people can find love too

Perrenial bachelor who only dates women twice his junior, finds himself falling for the mother of one of the women he’s meant to be dating and spending the weekend with. After suffering a heart attack, she looks after him in her beach house at the Hamptons. Short lived yet memorable, he eventually retreats back to his old habits and breaks her heart, thus becoming the hit story she writes into a play. 

There’s more to the rom com than just two (old huuhuu) people falling in love. Cause hey, old people can too. I think it’s charming story with an even more charming (dream) house where a lot of the story takes place. It’s about rediscovering love, rediscovering yourself, and stepping out of your comfort zone to open up to life even above the age of 50 or 60. 

braveBrave (2012)
★★★★★
celtic soul

Rebel without a cause, but Princess Merida is a rebel with a cause—to break tradition, to avoid arranged marriage, and to be free. She isn’t ready to be tied down and she certainly isn’t ready to marry just about any lord who wins in a bunch of games. In an attempt to change her fate and her strict mother, she consults a witch who cunningly then turns her mother into… A bear. By the second sunrise, the spell becomes eternal and she loses her mother forever.

This is an underrated Disney movie, but it doesn’t deserve to be. Not sure if I’m biased just cause I found myself resonating with the story and I like Scottish (and Irish) things, but it was really beautiful. I took some online test before and I was hoping to get Princess Aurora (haha) but I ended up getting Princess Merida but I wondered why. Now I kinda get why. The Scottish- Celtic soundtrack was a great touch. It made me wanna go back huuhuu. I especially liked that it focused on themes other than happily ever afters with handsome princes and whatnots. It was about family, understanding, and being open. 


Watching soon:

I'd love to hear from you!

