One dimensional

audrey

Audrey Hepburn isn’t always right

I come across this quote, “happy girls are the prettiest” almost every week and it really frustrates me. Do I even have to explain why? I’ll explain it anyway to the people who constantly share this. Well, the people who say this are undoubtedly happy and obviously, Audrey Hepburn is a beautiful woman. I’m biased because I’m not in the best place right now. I know this quote means well. This is supposed to encourage young women to strive towards happiness, to literally smile more, and see the good things in life. But there’s more to life than being happy even if it might actually be the daily goal for most of us. img_9192I’d like to go through life happily, ideally but I don’t think it’s the end all and be all of things. And happy girls are certainly not the prettiest girls. They’re pretty but they’re not the prettiest. I think a girl who has the capacity to be and feel all things is b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l. She’s full of life because life isn’t all pretty, happy things. I also think that the saddest girls have also been the happiest because they’ve experienced two ends of a spectrum. Let’s keep it real. Feminism probably wasn’t the thing during Audrey Hepburn’s era or was it and I’m not a feminist but why on earth is this even directed towards girls? I hate to sound like one but it’s 2016. Can we stop sharing quotes written in the 20th century by people who had it easy. It doesn’t apply today. This doesn’t help young women deal with their problems but rush into becoming better by avoiding the ugly things in life.

audreyrehashed

but I do love this blue

A person isn’t meant to be pretty. A person is a work of art, beautiful in all its colors. I have 0 patience for people who have the emotional range of a teaspoon as Hermione said of Ron. I have never been drawn the leastΒ toΒ people (guys especially if we’re talking about that kinda drawn) who have the emotional range of a teaspoon. It’s shallow. Imperfections and none-prettiness let you know you’ve found someone real and in all that realness, you unknowingly let ’em grow on you and begin to appreciate them for the good and bad.Β I’m happy to know I’ve come across real people in life and all their colors, even if not every color has been the best to look at.

I'd love to hear from you!

