Mmmessy executions

*After months or almost a year of not getting hands on with art, I gave it a shot earlier because I’ve been feeling the urge to make something out of nothing by hand for weeks.

I sketched a rough draft of a girl in a large bed. I was going to paint light pink folds of sheets bathing in purple shadows. I thought of having the moon behind her bed instead of a window. It was a mess.

Maybe I’ll try again another time. My ideas aren’t matching up with the flow of my own emotions. It’s a little soft and then it can get very hard. Still trying to find my way around unfamiliar tubes of hand-me-down paint and what I really want to achieve.

Featured image: © Emily Gherard, 2011-2012 oil on canvas

I'd love to hear from you!

